A Year of Spark - Bold Publishing Programme to mark the Centenary of Muriel Spark's birth

2018 is the centenary of Muriel Spark’s birth. One of the great writers of the 20th century, all 22 of her novels will be re-published by Scottish publisher Polygon in a bold publishing programme, A Year of Spark. That year will start off in November 2017 with publication of Appointment in Arezzo: A Friendship with Muriel Spark by Alan Taylor. Alan knew Muriel for more than 20 years and travelled extensively with her for author appearances, talks and meetings in America, Europe and here in Scotland when she returned for an appearance at the Edinburgh International Book Festival in 2004. He took his family to holiday in her home in Tuscany and became a close friend. His memoir will be published to mark the start of The Year of Spark.

The 22 novels by Muriel Spark will be re-published in beautiful hardback editions between November 2017 and September 2019. Each book will be introduced by a well know writer and carry a preface by series editor, Alan Taylor.
The Comforters (1957)
Robinson (1958)
Memento Mori (1959)
The Ballad of Peckham Rye (1960)
The Bachelors (1960)
The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie (1961)
The Girls of Slender Means (1963)
The Mandelbaum Gate (1965)
The Public Image (1968, shortlisted for Booker Prize)
The Driver’s Seat (1970)
Not To Disturb (1971)
The Hothouse by the East River (1973)
The Abbess of Crewe (1974)
The Takeover (1976)
Territorial Rights (1979)
Loitering with Intent (1981, shortlisted for Booker Prize)
The Only Problem (1984)
A Far Cry From Kensington (1988)
Symposium (1990)
Reality and Dreams (1996)
Aiding and Abetting (2000)
The Finishing School (2004)

The Great Tapestry of Scotland is on the Move (but there's still time to make your Mark!)

Members of the public are to be given a chance to make a stitch on new welcome panels for the Great Tapestry of Scotland before it moves to its new, purpose built home in Galashiels.

Writing Scotland's Future – July 1999

In 1999 the winner of a national writing competition, Writing Scotland’s Future, was only 11 years old. But her winning entry was strong and on 1 July that year, her poem was read out at the Official Opening of Scotland’s new Parliament. Jan Rutherford was present.

Shortlisted for Major Award

PPW’s Jan Rutherford has been shortlist for the UK’s Publishers’ Publicity Circle Annual Award.